Automotive News 

20 Manufacturers Have Committed to Standard Automatic Emergency Braking

Today’s cars are much safer than they were even ten years ago. As infotainment technology has progressed so too has the technology that keeps us alive in the event of an accident. Well, now safety on the road will improve even more than before as 20 automakers have committed to standard automatic emergency braking (AEB) in their vehicles.

Automatic or autonomous emergency braking is a system that helps prevent crashes before they even occur by sensing an impending collision and taking control of the brakes to initiate stopping. Whether the vehicle comes to a full stop or the collision is just reduced, this technology has been known to save lives and prevent crashes altogether.

The systems, themselves, use cameras, lasers, radar, lidar, or other kinds of sensors to detect when other vehicles, pedestrians, bicycles or motorcycles, and even animals are in danger of a vehicular collision. They produce a warning alert and, if the driver hasn’t acted quickly enough, can even engage braking.

Most auto manufacturers already have this kind of technology, but it comes at a premium cost. Packages with automatic braking usually cost between $1,500 and $3,000, or more. However, the current plan is to start including this life-saving technology as standard.

The commitment was made by the U.S. Department of Transportation (US DOT), the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, and more than 20 manufacturers.

“It’s an exciting time for vehicle safety. By proactively making emergency braking systems standard equipment on their vehicles, these 20 automakers will help prevent thousands of crashes and save lives,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx. “It’s a win for safety and a win for consumers.”

Automotive companies dedicated to offering this technology as standard in their lineups include Audi and BMW. Other automakers making the commitment are Ford, General Motors, Honda, Hyundai, Jaguar Land Rover, Kia, Maserati, Mazda, Mercedes-Benz, Mitsubishi Motors, Nissan, Porsche, Subaru, Tesla Motors, Toyota, Volkswagen, and Volvo.

This represents an incredible 99-percent of the automotive market!

These manufacturers have pledged to make this technology standard by Sept. 1, 2022, but many are implementing the change sooner. Toyota has announced their plan to include AEB in their cars Toyota and Lexus vehicles by 2017- vehicles that will be rolling onto dealership floors any month now.

Related posts